MAY 2021 VETTE VUES MAGAZINE ISSUE PREVIEW

Today on our blog we are looking at the Vette Vues Magazine May 2021 issue. We are looking at the articles that our Corvette magazine subscribers are enjoying again this month. Vette Vues Magazine is a print publication and sold by subscription only. We started in 1972 and have enjoyed continuous monthly publication ever since!

MAY 2021 ISSUE VETTE VUES MAGAZINE, The Corvette Enthusiast’s Magazine, Volume 49, Issue Number 10, #594
MAY 2021 ISSUE VETTE VUES MAGAZINE, The Corvette Enthusiast’s Magazine, Volume 49, Issue Number 10, #594

Vette Vues Magazine’s May issue starts off with a feature of a 1954 Corvette with some unusual attributes.  Is it a GM styling Exercise Car?  Our next feature is a Corvette that was done by famous restorer Kevin MacKay, founder of Corvette Repair Inc., the 1969 Corvette See-Thru L88.  Another Corvette feature is owned by Larry Harris.  Gary Rosier shares a great article and photos of a unique 1957 Corvette creation by Don Davis (an NHRA Chassis Guru) and McCabe Racing.

Vette Vues Model Scene starts off with a paper Corvette this month.  We also look at some 1/18 scale Corvettes, a 2016 ZO6, 1988 C4 and some Corvette Challenge cars.  Bill Landis also shows us a few Corvette notebooks.  He also shares some Corvette Kits including a very stunning C3 Corvette model.  He finishes off the column with three tiny Corvette models made by Galoob…these are smaller than a Matchbox car.

At Vette Vues we love Corvette history.  Both historians Kenneth Kayser and Scott Teeters continue to share the history of the beginning of Corvette.  Ken Kayser also brings us up to date as to what is happening on the C8 production interruptions.

Corvette Racing is always of interest.  Jan Hyde of the Registry of Corvette Race Cars brings us coverage of the Trans Am Corvettes in the top 5 at Rainy Road Atlanta.  Ken Kayser attended the Sebring Corvette race and also covers that in the May 2021 issue.

Jan Hyde is taking us back through the history of Corvette racing from Fitch to Fehan.  We go back and visit the racers starting back in 1979.

It is always fun to see what is going on in the auctions.  We look at a 1967 Chevrolet Corvette L88 Coupe

Original Engine, Duntov Mark of Excellence (Lot S122.1) sold for $2,695,000 at the Mecum Auctions. Another high price selling Corvette is a 1959 Chevrolet Corvette Custom Convertible that sold for $825,000 at Barrett-Jackson. We also announced that One of the earliest cars from Corvette’s endurance racing past is headed for auction at RM Sotheby’s 2021 Amelia Island auction. The #1 Briggs Cunningham Le Mans Corvette racer could bring over $1.3M.

Dan Burrill shares with us a self-published, limited quantities collector book by Roy Lonberger at Magna Design. Maestro: Bill Mitchell from Stingray to AeroVette: Twenty years that changed automotive automobile design (1958 to 1977), the price is $375 and, when you look at the inside, you can see why.

During the COVID lockdowns reader, Jim Burch decided to make some Bondo Corvettes.  We share how he spent some of his time this year.

Wayne Scraba shows us how Palmgren’s Drill Bit Sharpener works.  We are told that once you get the hang of it, you can sharpen a drill bit in less than a minute.

As always there are lots of great companies selling their Corvette products, many of which are manufactures.  Also, readers can sell the Corvettes, parts, and literature in the classified section of the magazine.

This is also available to members in our Digital Edition part of our website.  To become a member CLICK HERE.

Looking for a different back issue? We have a limited supply of back issues. You can check out what we have available in our store HERE.

MAY 2021 VETTE VUES MAGAZINE

The Corvette Enthusiast’s Magazine

Volume 49, Issue Number 10, #594

8…1954 Corvette GM Styling Exercise Car?

16…Corvettes Brought Back to Life: X-Ray Vision not Needed Here – A 1969 See-Thru L88

22…Corvette Engineers Part 1: Zora Arkus-Duntov

31…Corvette Auction ReVues

36…Vette-Book-ReVues

46…Jim’s Bondo Vette

50…Crazy About Vettes

60…Keepin’ Track of Corvette Racing: Trans Am Corvettes in the top 5 at Rainy Road Atlanta

63…Second in a Series Celebrating Race Cars from the days of Fitch to Fehan Destined for the NCM

68…Corvette Legend or Myth & Zora’s Marque of Excellence – XXVII

81…Sharp as a Tack: How Palmgren’s Drill Bit Sharpener Works

85…Business Card File

87…Corvette Literature, Models, and Miscellaneous for Sale and Wanted

88…Corvette Parts for Sale and Wanted

93…Corvettes for Sale & Wanted

96…Corvette Advertisers Index

Cover Car: The #3 and #4 Mobil 1/SiriusXM Chevrolet Corvette C8.R race cars featuring the silver Mobil 1 livery, matching that of Mobil 1 motor oil, to commemorate Corvette Racing’s 25-year technical partnership with Mobil 1, leading up to the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring endurance race at Sebring International Speedway in Sebring, Florida. (Photo by Richard Prince for Chevy Racing)

MAY 2021 ISSUE COVER VETTE VUES MAGAZIINE
MAY 2021 ISSUE COVER VETTE VUES MAGAZIINE
ARTICLES IN MAY 2021 ISSUE OF VETTE VUES MAGAZIINE
ARTICLES IN MAY 2021 ISSUE OF VETTE VUES MAGAZIINE

Vette Vues Magazine is jammed packed with Corvette information covering C1 to C8. Each monthly issue has features, reviews, tips, restorations, clubs, events, racing, auction results, model cars, classifieds, products, services, and more.  Enjoy the latest Corvette news, as well as some great historical facts.


Share this article with your friends.
Share this article with your friends.
CALL NOW